NBCOlympics.com…the CSPAN of Sports?

I just finished watching the opening ceremonies of the 2008 Summer Olympics and I think I’ve caught Olympic fever. I mean, wow! That was an exciting show. 

A few minutes after the Olympics signed off from the bird’s nest, I turned to the only place where I can watch live Olympics action at midnight pacific, NBCOlympics.com. I figured, judo would be a fun sport to watch.  No, I’m not a huge fan of martial arts but I figured I’d give judo a shot. There are no announcers to explain what I’m watching, however, you can hear announcements the arena’s loudspeaker. The problem is, the camera is fixed about a mile from the fight. The single fixed camera is a bird’s eye view of the match. 

 

Judo-n't know what you're watching

Judo-n't know what you're watching

Also, many people have been complaining about the delay between the live events and the time that NBC actually shows the events.

Earlier this week, I teamed up with the good folks from EPIC FU to talk about the implications of NBC controlling the Olympic content. 

 

Here's a fullsize image

Here's a full size image from NBCOlympics.com

 

UPDATE:

Ok, so after I posted this, there was a shift and the cameras started working. I watch a judo event: Israel v. Georgia. Israel won 1-0.

 

Israel v. Georgia

Israel v. Georgia

2 Responses to NBCOlympics.com…the CSPAN of Sports?

  1. Jenny d says:

    Count your lucky stars that it wasn’t in Hindi and your picture was so sharp. I have yet to see what the best team (country) looks like, but you can ask me anything you want about the Indian team now 🙂

  2. Jake says:

    You only wrote this post so you could use the “Judo-n’t know what you’re watching” line.

Leave a Reply

