I love you, but I don’t want to make that kind of commitment…yet

Love is hard to define, but it’s even harder to discover. It takes time and part of the fun is the search. That’s the way I feel about music. I love you, but I’m not in love with you. That’s the way I felt about Britney Spears’ “Womanizer.” I’ll admit it, I feel for the sexy hook and the seductive mixed in vocals that sound like uuuuhhhhhh, but seriously, it’s good for a fling, maybe a couple of times, but I’m not going to drive around to “Womanizer” with my windows down. At best, I’ll listen to it on my ipod with the volume down while looking around to make sure no one notices. And that’s not love. I’m taking advantage of the song until I’m done with it. But alas, 99 cents out the window.

And there are plenty of other tunes in the sea, but at 99 cents for each, I’m not looking for a Brit-brit, but a song I can take out in public, a song where everyone will ask, where did you get it, because they want a song just like it. Because like me, they know if they can get a little sample, I’m in for the whole album, maybe a concert. Perhaps after the show to show my growing affection, and I’ll splurge a little on some merchandise.

After going to SXSW and staying for the music festival, going to the parties, I met DJ Steve Aoki, heard Saul Williams, My Morning Jacket, The Spinto Band, Lightspeed Champions and more. Yes, I heard them play, but I heard a ton of great DJs and bands play. Going through the SXSW band list I entered many of the musicians names into the site RCRD-LBL to see what comes up. Alas, many of the bands were giving away a few songs for free. 

I took a song for a try. If I liked it, I’d go to itunes and buy more. If I really liked, I’d got to itunes and buy the entire album. If I really liked it, I’d go see the band in concert.

If you haven’t checked out RCRD-LBL or Little White Earbuds you must. These are places to find new music and if you don’t love, it’s easy to say, “Let’s just be friends” or “I love you, but I’m not in love with you.”

Leave a Reply

